My HDR photography experiements

While surfing I found out about HDR photography on the internet. (In image processing, computer graphics, and photography, high dynamic range imaging (HDRI or just HDR) is a set of techniques that allow a greater dynamic range of luminances between the lightest and darkest areas of an image than standard digital imaging techniques or photographic methods. This wider dynamic range allows HDR images to more accurately represent the wide range of intensity levels found in real scenes, ranging from direct sunlight to faint starlight. Thank you Wikipedia!)  So I downloaded the trial version of the software needed and decided to have a go. I discovered that my camera will do bracketed exposures but I also discovered that you can also fake it pretty well in GIMP if you only have one exposure. I do plan on taking a bunch of shots at the beach this weekend with my tripod and multiple exposures though as it is easier than trying to guess the right exposure in GIMP. I really like this technique, it gives the image a surreal “better than reality” quality, they almost look like paintings. I really want to try this on some night shots of the city!

These are my first experiments. Obviously they aren’t as good as the professionals but I am quite pleased with them. The watermark is on the processed photos because I haven’t purchased the software yet. I put the rest under the cut because there are quite a few… although I did narrow it down to my absolute favorites 🙂

A pond at the Conservatory

A pond at the Conservatory

Pond at the Conservatory original photo

A pond at the Conservatory original photo

Chinatown Chicago, IL

Chinatown Chicago, IL. I did this one with multiple exposures, the one drawback to this is things move and you get the ghost children on the left and the blurry car on the right. The kids don’t really show unless you look at the original, but the car does, although you could probably photoshop the blurred part out.

Chinatown Chicago, IL original photo

Chinatown Chicago, IL original photo

Staghorn fern

Staghorn Fern

Staghorn Fern original photo

Staghorn Fern original photo

The View from Lake Shore Drive Chicago, IL

View from Lake Shore Drive Chicago, IL. As you can see on the original photo below, I had my white balance setting on tungsten light instead of daylight which is why it looks so blue. I was able to correct the color in the processed version, in fact I think I got the colors I got because I started with blue photos!

The View from Lake Shore Drive Chicago, IL original photo

The View from Lake Shore Drive Chicago, IL original photo

Idyll

“Idyll” statue at the Conservatory. On one hand, I like how the colors come out in the statue but on the other hand I think it takes something away from the marble, I might have to experiment with the settings on this one.

Idyll original photo

“Idyll” statue at the Conservatory original photo.

Waterlilies and Irises

Waterlilies and Irises

Waterlilies and Irises original photo

Waterlilies and Irises original photo

Tropical Foliage

Tropical Foliage. I absolutely love how glossy and colorful this turned out!

Tropical Foliage original photo

Tropical Foliage original photo

Vernal Pool

Vernal Pool

Vernal Pool original photo

Vernal Pool original photo

Buckingham Fountain

Buckingham Fountain

Buckingham Fountain original photo

Buckingham Fountain original photo

Hen and Chicks

Hen and Chicks. Again with this one you gain a bit in color saturation and detail but you lose a bit of the dusky mauve color that is so pretty.

Hen and Chicks original photo

Hen and Chicks original photo

Chicago Skyline

Chicago Skyline. This one didn’t do much for the buildings but more than made up for it with the sky!

Chicago Skyline original photo

Chicago Skyline original photo

Magnolia Tree

Magnolia Tree. I love the level of detail on the flowers, the blue of the sky and how the photo has more depth.

Magnolia Tree original photo

Magnolia Tree original photo

~ by Caroline on June 19, 2010.

One Response to “My HDR photography experiements”

  1. This HDR was good!

Leave a Reply

 
