My religious rant, or why my dad doesn’t send me stuff like this anymore

yeah I cross posted this, but there are people on live journal that I want to see this and they won’t go to myspace at all (yes I am talking about you 

 !)


This is the annoying thing that Andy Rooney apparently wrote and my Dad decided to send to me, his Pagan daughter

Dad honestly do you send me this stuff just to piss me off? My responses are in red and I will probably blog them.

Andy Rooney
DID YOU KNOW?
As you walk up the steps to the building which houses the U.S. Supreme Court you can see near the top of the building a row of the world’s law givers and each one is facing one in the middle who is facing forward with a full frontal view it is Moses and he is holding the Ten Commandments!


If I was Jewish or Christian I guess this would make me all warm and fuzzy but the 10 commandments make my faith a “sin” (Thou shall have no other Gods before Me) oops sorry Jahweh I have many Gods before you because I’m a Celtic PAGAN!!!!! Why should my government support a document that invalidates my beliefs while magnifiying others? The gov should stay the effing hell out of religion and religion should stay the effing hell out of the gov period. Or should we include other things out of the old testament like;

He that sacrificeth unto any god, save unto the LORD only, he shall be utterly destroyed.

Exodus 22:20 (King James Version)

maybe we should put that on the courthouse door. Think it couldn’t happen here? Ask the West Memphis Three.

DID YOU KNOW?

As you enter the Supreme Court courtroom, the two huge oak doors have the Ten Commandments engraved on each lower portion of each door.

Ditto.

DID YOU KNOW?
As you sit inside the courtroom, you can see the wall,
right above where the Supreme Court judges sit,
a display of the Ten Commandments!


As Nicole would say, Tritto.

DID YOU KNOW?
There are Bible verses etched in stone all over the Federal Buildings and Monuments in Washington, D.C.


Quaditto

DID YOU KNOW?
James Madison, the fourth president, known as “The Father of Our Constitution” made the following statement:
” We have staked the whole of all our political institutions upon the capacity of mankind for self-government, upon the capacity of each and all of us to govern ourselves, to control ourselves, to sustain ourselves according to the Ten Commandments of God.”


To: Messrs. Nehemiah Dodge and Others, a Committee of the Danbury Baptist Association, in the State of Connecticut

Gentlemen:


The affectionate sentiments of esteem and approbation which you are so good as to express towards me, on behalf of the Danbury Baptist Association, give me the highest satisfaction. My duties dictate a faithful and zealous pursuit of the interests of my constituents, and in proportion as they are persuaded of my fidelity to those duties, the discharge of them becomes more and more pleasing.

Believing with you that religion is a matter which lies solely between man and his God, that he owes account to none other for his faith or his worship, that the legislative powers of government reach actions only, and not opinions, I contemplate with sovereign reverence that act of the whole American people which declared that their legislature should “make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof,” thus building a wall of separation between church and State. Adhering to this expression of the supreme will of the nation in behalf of the rights of conscience, I shall see with sincere satisfaction the progress of those sentiments which tend to restore to man all his natural rights, convinced he has no natural right in opposition to his social duties.
I reciprocate your kind prayers for the protection and blessing of the common Father and Creator of man, and tender you for yourselves and your religious association, assurances of my high respect and esteem.

Thomas Jefferson

Here is an extensive look at the 10 commandments and why they aren’t really relevant anymore
(I actually sent my dad the whole page but I am only linking to it here for copyright purposes, I would suggest reading it though.)

DID YOU KNOW?
Patrick Henry, that patriot and Founding Father of our country said:
“It cannot be emphasized too strongly or too often that this great nation was founded not by religionists but by Christians, not on religions but on the Gospel of Jesus Christ”.


Gospels, oh you mean like when Jesus said;

“Show me the coin for the tax.” And they brought him a denarius. And Jesus said to them, “Whose likeness and inscription is this?” They said, “Caesar’s.” Then he said to them, “Therefore render to Caesar the things that are Caesar’s, and to God the things that are God’s.”

Matthew 22:19-21

Oh by the way, that statement supposedly made by Patrick Henry is a forgery, he never said it.

DID YOU KNOW?
Every session of Congress begins with a prayer by a paid preacher, whose salary has been paid by the taxpayer since 1777.


Yay more tax money wasted on crap I don’t want. Pray on your own damn dollar. I don’t ask for $$ to pray to my Gods now do I? Nor do I insist that the Nine ADF Pagan Virtues be stuck on Federal buildings for all to see. I generally just try to live the virtues instead of worrying about if they are on enough government buildings.


DID YOU KNOW?
Fifty-two of the 55 founders of the Constitution were members of the established orthodox churches in the colonies.


And yet they managed to include separation of Church and State into the Bill of Rights.

DID YOU KNOW?
Thomas Jefferson worried that the Courts would overstep their authority and instead of interpreting the law would begin making law an oligarchy the rule of few over many.


Well the Republicans, Democrats and most giant corporations have already done that, probably more along the lines of what Thomas Jefferson was worried about in the first place. I don’t think respecting religious freedom is going to cause an oligarchy. Plenty of people have suggested compromises like putting more than one cultures/religions laws on display but the Extreme Rightwing Christians (an oligarchy if I ever saw one) absolutely won’t have it. So much for the many not being ruled by the few……..

DID YOU KNOW?
The very first Supreme Court Justice, John Jay, said:
“Americans should select and prefer Christians as their rulers.”


He probably also hated blacks, Jews, women, Native Americans, CATHOLICS, and all other non WASPs and supported slavery.

How, then, have we gotten to the point that everything we have done for 220 years in this country is now suddenly wrong and unconstitutional?

Just because something has been done for a long time doesn’t make it right. Things we did 200 years ago we now find abhorrent, like slavery for instance. It’s called evolving!


Lets put it around the world and let the world see and remember what this great country was built on.


This is the same xenophobic arrogant bullshit I’d really rather not show the world thank you. And if I were somehow moved to show it to anyone, I would make sure that the information it contained was accurate before I polluted the internet with it.

I was asked to send this on if I agreed or delete if I didn’t. Now it is your turn…

DELETE

It is said that 86% of Americans believe in God. Therefore, it is very hard to understand why there is such a mess about having the Ten Commandments on display or “In God We Trust” on our money and having God in the Pledge of Allegiance. Why don’t we just tell the other 14% to Sit Down and SHUT UP !!!

Wow because that would show the world how awesome we are, a freedom loving country like ours telling anyone who has the audacity to have a different belief or view to sit down and shut up! Gods that makes me proud to be an American! And let’s remember 86% might believe in “God” but that doesn’t make them all Christian now does it? And that 14% shouldn’t have religion forced down their throats everytime they walk into a GOVERNMENT building that they help pay for with their 14% of the taxes!

If you agree, pass this on

um…no

what I will pass on is the URL of a very good website called http://www.religioustolerance.org

~ by dreigiau on January 21, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
